Lord of the Rings Online: a Test Drive

I was looking over a friend’s gaming activity and saw Lord of the Rings and thought to myself “why did he download that?  his personal life barely lets him play his ladders let alone an MMO.”  So I load it up and….  Well lets let it download..   ok.  now lets fire it up..  Now a update.  ohh come one.  *sigh*

Given that it is a MMO game its no surprise it took a while to set up.  Now lets dive into the material.    Graphics are good enough to be emursive but for those of you looking for Skyrim or  Crysis 2 graphics need not apply.  On a side note why does my Elf Lore Master look like a musketeer with a staff? Answer: Its the hat.

Gameplay is easy for anyone who has played any MMO.  I’m not into some of the higher levels in the game but this is just a quick 6 to 9 hour test drive of the game. Crafting is a little different in that you get 3 crafting skills but they are set up in packages. I have a feeling this is going to cause me some frustration but I haven’t been able to test it out enough yet.  Leveling is not as fast as some other MMOs like WoW or D&D online.

Story the game has scored its highest value of points.  I’m interested to see what happens next.  and I am about to face Goblins the first enemy I’m sure has direct ties to Sauron.  (Spell check wants to turn Sauron into Sauropod. Just FYI)

Lord of the Rings online and D&D MMO share the same premium game money.  thats on thing i dislike about free MMOs.  they make their money on selling premium accounts and not giving everyone a level field of play.

Anyway I hope this review was insightful and helped you in deciding if you want to play the game or not.  I’m off to look for a troll to kill.  Something tells me I’m going to need to level more for that.

Leave a Reply

